Sen. Steve Litzow Named to Thrive by Five Washington Board of Directors


SEATTLE — Sen. Steve Litzow, ranking minority member of the state Senate Early Learning & K-12 Education Committee, has been named to the Thrive by Five Washington Board of Directors. Thrive is the state’s non-profit public-private partnership for early learning.

Key work for Thrive includes:

  1. working closely with the state Department of Early Learning and Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction to lead the creation of a statewide early learning system that supports children from birth through third grade. (The three organizations led the creation of the new statewide Early Learning Plan that was released in September 2010.);
  2. overseeing the state’s new Home Visiting Services Account, created by the 2010 Legislature to match public and private dollars to fund proven and promising home visiting programs for at-risk families throughout the state; and
  3. launching a campaign to help parents better understand why the first years of life are so important and how they can best support their children.

“My number one priority as a legislator is K-12 education,” Litzow said. “And I know that when children get a great start in those first few years of life, they’re more likely to succeed in school — from kindergarten through high school graduation. The state is a partner with parents and our communities to help children get that great start, and I look forward to being very much involved in Thrive by Five Washington.”

Litzow is one of four legislators on the Thrive board. He joins Sen. Rosemary McAuliffe, chair of the Senate Early Learning & K-12 Education Committee; Rep. Ruth Kagi, chair of the House Early Learning & Human Services Committee; and Rep. Maureen Walsh, ranking minority member of the House Early Learning & Human Services Committee.

The 23-member Thrive board is an active and committed group of state, community, business and philanthropic leaders, many of whom helped create Thrive. Members serve three-year terms. The board is currently co-chaired by Gov. Christine Gregoire and Jackie Bezos of the Bezos Family Foundation. Nina Auerbach is president & CEO of Thrive by Five Washington. See a full board list.